Pizza Biking!

Received 9/30/14

DSCN0388[1] specializedtraining9242014

The first is Sister Calvo and I COMPLETELY SOAKED from biking in the rain. The background is so white because it was raining to fast for the camera to capture! I’m not really sure if that’s the reason, but it sounds good.
And the other is the four southern zones of the mish!

RSCN0362[1] RSCN0383[1]

P-day at the zoo.  I fed this giraffe!                     My district—until transfers tomorrow!  CRAZY!

Familia!!!
Last night Sister Calvo and I received a shock – she is going to be transferred tomorrow. WHAT?! Super confusing and super wild – she’s supposed to be with me for my first twelve weeks because she’s my trainer, but for some reason God has a different plan for us. These six weeks really have gone by too fast. I am nervous about taking on the area without her. Heavenly Father truly is teaching me how to trust in Him. And it’s hard. Half of my district, including my District Leader and one Zone Leader, are all leaving too. So tomorrow I will have a new companion! Tantas locuras. I still feel very small and like I have so much to learn from her, but I am trying hard to trust in the Lord to understand His purpose. Fortunately, we have had countless fun experiences together, and really have developed an amazing friendship. I have been so lucky to know her and am crossing my fingers that He will let us serve together one more time.
We’ve been on bikes for the past week and it has been WILD! Wet & wild to be honest, with all of this crazy Florida rain! I am proud to say that I have know biked with a full garbage bag and with a pizza! Long distances. Not easy tasks. Yesterday while we were harvesting in the rain, we were trying to decide if we should continue or take refuge in a member’s home nearby. As we were praying to try to decide, right after I asked for help to know if we should press forward or leave, a huge clap of thunder interrupted and gave us our answer. Usually He talks to us in a still, small voice, but this time, he spoke in a big, booming voice. Cool experience.
This week I have been reading in 2 Nephi in the Isaiah chapters, which has been a new experience for me. To be honest, I’m not sure if I’ve ever read them all the way through before, so they are a bit difficult for me to understand. BUT, everyone always complains and talks about how Isaiah writes, so I am determined to love them and understand them! I did have to take a little break from them, however, and I was led to Alma 26, a beautiful, wonderful missionary account of his work with the Lamanites (now Anti-Nephi-Lehis). He opens the chapter with a question to his missionary bros, saying, “And now, I ask, what great blessings has he bestowed upon us? Can ye tell?”, which causes me to reflect on the great blessings I have been given here as my time with Sister Calvo comes to an end. I have been so blessed to have a companion who can help me improve my Spanish, English, testimony, teaching skills, attitude, perspective, obedience, bike speed, courage, and boldness. And an even longer list of things that I don’t fully understand or realize yet. I have been given so much! But of whom much is given much is required, and I guess now Heavenly Father is requiring me to learn from someone new! I pray that at the end of my mission I will be able to say all of the things Ammon says about rescuing people from the darkest abyss and helping them to better know their maker (though I have to say that I could do without the suffering “all manner of afflictions” or being bound and thrown into prison). My favorite are his closing verses: 36 Now if this is boasting, even so will I boast; for this is my life and my light, my joy and my salvation, and my redemption from everlasting wo. Yea, blessed is the name of my God, who has been mindful of this people, who are a branch of the tree of Israel, and has been lost from its body in a strange land; yea, I say, blessed be the name of my God, who has been mindful of us, wanderers in a strange land.
37 Now my brethren, we see that God is mindful of every people, whatsoever land they may be in; yea, he numbereth his people, and his bowels of mercy are over all the earth. Now this is my joy, and my great thanksgiving; yea, and I will give thanks unto my God forever. Amen. His words help me to realize that God truly knows each and every one of His children. I have no idea how He does it, but I know that this is truth because I see it every day in the people with whom we speak and to whom He sends us. Even though Miami may feel like a strange land sometimes, I am willing to go down and to work to bring about the salvation of men and to make their joy full.
Sister Calvo have seen miracles in a new and improved harvesting method. Our AMAZING (though now departing) District Leader, Elder Williamson, encouraged us to improve our blessings given to new investigator ratio by striving to only bless the elect. We truly have seen a difference in people and feel better as we truly strive to bring the Spirit to those who have been prepared and are ready to feel and receive it. It has changed our work – truly a miracle! We are praying hard for another miracle tonight – Sandra’s baptism. We are planning to teach her a lesson with our RC Fina in the church and inviting her to be baptised right then and there because she has been to church twice and has been taught everything. It is super risky, but we feel confident that this is how God wants it to be and that she will finally accept.
I love you! Sorry that this is short and without many details!
Sister Burdett

Leave a Reply

