Round like a cookie!

Editor’s note: I’m not sure what the title has to do with this post.  Maybe an inside joke with Mitch?  Also–the peacock picture wouldn’t load, so we will try again next time.  Katie

Ciao Famiglia!
A little Italian in honor of my cool-cat cousin, Anziano Anderson.
It was a crazy-wild miracle transfer weekend!!
The greatest miracle of all would have been Sandra’s baptism, and unfortunately, due to some last minute trips to Colombia, we weren’t able to see that come to pass. But, many, many things have been changing for the better!
At transfer meeting I received a big surprise – my sister in the mission, Sister Heacock, was my new companion! WHAT! Sister Calvo just finished training her the transfer before she started training me! So we are two nueva gringas! It has been wild! And truly a test of my Spanish skills. I am pleased to report, however confused our family tree may be now, that I am learning how much Spanish I really do know and understand. It’s much more than I realized! I really did learn a lot from Sister Calvo! I am thankful for this opportunity that I have to learn and grow with Sister Heacock – she is fantastic! We already have developed a really good relationship and are able to teach with a lot of love and power. She’s from Seattle! It has been good to get a fresh missionary here to help refresh our teaching pool. We have seen some huge miracles the past few days together – hallelujah for miracle transfer weekend – and just yesterday, while we were harvesting, we left three blessings and got three return appointments! And two of them are with families who accepted baptism! Super radical. The last blessing was with a woman named Nicole who initially told us no at the doorway, but than had a quick change of heart at the slightest insistence and not only allowed us to pray with her, but let us inside and invited her three children and sister to join the majority of whom knelt with us in their living room! After the blessing she immediately asked where the Church was and if she could bring her children! And she accepted baptism! Way cool. We are excited to follow up with her soon.
This week was awesome – General Conference! The Sunday Afternoon session was AMAZING! Every talk was so good. If you haven’t seen it yet, make sure you take the time to do so. Elder Bednar basically did my job as a missionary for me! And I have conquered the Isaiah chapters in 2 Nephi! Victory! After he has finished quoting eighteen chapters or so, in chapter 25, Nephi talks about how it may be difficult for those who do not have the ‘spirit of prophesy’ to understand the words of Isaiah – he could not have been more correct! I am trying harder now than I ever have to learn, understand, and apply, but often I get a little bogged down in the symbolism and analogies of the Second Coming of Christ. I really have been able to understand more this go around, but I was relived to get to chapter 25. I am in complete concurrence with Nephi when he states, “For my soul delighteth in plainness unto my people, that they may learn”. Not only do I delight in his plainer words of clarification of this amazing biblical prophet, but I have found that our investigators truly delight in lessons that are exceedingly plain. Sometimes, especially when trying to further one’s own understanding of a deeper doctrine, it is easily forgotten that the gospel is simple. Faith, repentance, baptism, receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end. That’s it. The gospel of Jesus Christ is just that. It was a good reminder of how easily the people we’re teaching can get lost in the details of the Plan of Salvation or the Restoration if we get too deep if I can get lost so easily in the words of the prophet. Sister Heacock and I have been striving to make our lessons straight-forward, simple, and short – and it has been making a difference! Hallelujah! And we are progressing right along with a woman named Sharon – she informed me that I should be the next female president with Sister Heacock by my side as VP. I have never laughed so hard in my life.
We have an awesome new District Leader, Elder Nogueira, from Peru (Clay!), and a new Zone Leader, Elder Flores, from Mexico, who I learned today both have some awesome soccer skills. We changed districts, so that’s an exciting thing!

On the plus side (even though I wasn’t really talking about minuses), we learned how to play ‘We Thank Thee, O God, For A Prophet” using the buttons on our phone. Missionary swag.

Here’s a picture of a wild peacock chillin’ on a car. It then proceeded to jump on the roof of a nearby house. Those things are crazy.

Much love!
Sister Burdett

Leave a Reply

