The Great Drop

Received 10/13/15

Waiting 2.5 hours for an oil change 10/13/15

Waiting 2.5 hours for an oil change 10/13/15

Familia!
This week we have to say a hard goodbye to Hermana Ferrari – she’ll be headed back to Argentina this Thursday! I have been so, so grateful to have served with her, particularly during her last transfer. She taught me to be consistent, to be simple and intense, and to love. I’ll be in Fort Myers for yet another six weeks and will meet my new companion tomorrow!
Many inspiring things happened this week including interviews with Pres. Richardson, many exchanges, and Zone Training! I am so grateful for the Lord’s chosen and inspired servants here on the earth and that we have access to guidance TODAY! That week can seek it on our own through scripture study and prayer, and receive it from Heavenly Father’s dedicated servants.
We had to make a lot of big decisions on Sunday when not one of the 15 potentials for church we had showed up. It was pretty painful, especially after some sincere efforts to help them get there. In the end, we made the decision to drop 13 of them and to move forward with those who are ready to commit. And so we refocus our finding! This week we have already seen some pretty huge miracles because of it:
1. We found Denise and her little family! She has been looking to get closer to God and couldn’t believe that we just showed up on her doorstep! Right after we shared a prayer with her she asked us, “Do you baptize people in your church?” Do we ever! She has a strong desire for her whole family to be baptized and to recommit to follow Christ in their lives. It was a really cool experience and even though we had to pass them to the English missionaries, we are grateful to have had such a good opportunity to meet and testify.
2. On the same street as Denise we found Reina, an awesome 19-year-old who knew that we were heaven-sent! She is so excited to learn more about the Gospel. Her biggest goal for her family is to have them increase their faith and she knows that she can help them by setting a good example. She was another one that had to pass to other missionaries, but we know that God sent us at the right place at the right time.
I went on an exchange down in Vanderbilt Beach where we knocked doors in an area where many Haitian families lived. We were able to meet and teach two friends and their little daughters, one of whom asked me right before we left, “Why are your cheeks always like that? Like happy-ish?” Haha, smiling pays off.
Yesterday I got to try pacaya for the first time in my life! It’s a weird Guatemalan plant thing that looks like spaghetti growing out of a root. You should probably just Google it or something because that’s the best description I can come up with. But it is normally fried – it was delicious! Kind of bitter-ish, but good with some salsa roja.
As a new transfer approaches, I found a lot of guidance in reading D&C 128:22 this morning which says, “Brethren, shall we not go on in so great a cause? Go forward and not backward. Courage, brethren; and on, onto the victory! Let your hearts rejoice, and be exceedingly glad.” That is exactly what I want to do: move forward and not backward. To take what I have learned and let it carry me forward into where He needs me to be.
Another scripture I read differently this week was 1 Nephi 8:7, which reads, “And it came to pass that as I followed him I beheld myself that I was in a dark and dreary waste.”. How interesting it is to me that it is not until after Lehi decides to follow the Savior that he notices the circumstances in which He was. Many times, we are blinded to the darkness that surrounds us or the error in which we may be, but it is when we choose to turn to the Savior and follow that we recognize how much better our lives could be if we just keep following Him.
I love you! Have a stellar week!
Hermana Burdett

P.S. Whenever you feel tired or impatient, just be grateful that you don’t have to wait 2.5 hours for your oil to get changed. And if you do, I’m right there with ya.

Leave a Reply

