Scripture Power

11.24.15 Surprise trip to the hospitalSurprise trip to the hospital!

Received November 24, 2015

Familia!

    I love being a missionary.
   This week was wilder than the at Six Flags, but I’ll try to explain it to you briefly because I’m sitting on very few minutes to write this. #endingpdayearlyyeahwoo!
   I am sad to announce that I’ll be getting transferred tomorrow morning to my final area! We were white-washed! We are pretty bummed, particularly because of some awesome events that happened this past week, but are confident that it is the will of the Lord. He just has more people waiting for us in another part of Florida! I’ll send out my new address next week!
    Miracles happened last week.
   First off, we had a bit of a shock and two of our sisters in our sisterhood went to the hospital. One of them was quick – less than 24 hours – but the other was there for five days straight. That resulted in us being in a trio with Sis. Garlick for those 5 days! It was awesome! We had a lot of really great experiences all week long, one of the highlights being meeting Pinkie. We gave her door a knock, and she opened up totally shocked. She told us that two days before God had told her that He would send people to knock on her door to give her an important message about Jesus and that she should listen! The Lord really does send us where He needs us to be. The English elders are now teaching her and helping her learn about how the Church of Jesus Christ is back on the earth and she’s doing great!
     After many many weeks and worries with Marulani and Bricia, we were finally able to set a baptismal date with them to which they are 100% committed. I took a page out of my dad’s book and shared Mosiah 18:8-10 with them and asked them the same question Alma asks the people: “Now I say unto you, if this be the desire of your hearts, what have you against being baptized in the name of the Lord…?” to which they both responded, “Nothing.” We were able to resolve their concerns and to invite them to a baptism in our ward on Sunday. They loved it and are now ready to make the covenant themselves, with their parents completely supporting! I am sad that I won’t be here to see it, but I trust the Lord has something even better in store. Time and time again, we find exactly what we need in the Book of Mormon to help people resolve concerns. Investigators, missionaries, ourselves, all of us will find direction and guidance as long as we read with real intent.
     Funny moment of the week: while we were in a trio, we learned that neither of my companions know how to swim! Hna Alcazar’s response to Sis. Garlick was, “It’s okay. I’ve been told that swimming isn’t essential for your eternal salvation.” And thank goodness it’s not! Missionary work would be a lot more difficult and dangerous.
     I wish I could tell you more of the great things that happened (one of them being Lourdes progressing significantly – she’ll be baptized Dec. 12th!), but time is escaping me!
    I loved reading in D&C 106:6-8 this morning, which reads, “And again, verily I say unto you, there was joy in heaven when my servant Warren bowed to my scepter, and separated himself from the crafts of men; Therefore, blessed is my servant Warren, for I will have mercy on him; and, notwithstanding the vanity of his heart, I will lift him up inasmuch as he will humble himself before me. And I will give him grace and assurance wherewith he may stand; and if he continue to be a faithful witness and a light unto the church I have prepared a crown for him in the mansions of my Father”. Yes, my name isn’t Warren. Your name probably isn’t Warren either. This section was very specific guidance to a very specific individual, yet I am confident that there is great joy in heaven when any one of God’s children chooses to humble ourselves before the Lord and decide to lay aside the things of this world for something better. All of us has divine potential, promises, and help offered to us, all we have to do is live worthy to receive them!
    I love you! Have a happy week!
  Hermana Burdett
Leave a Reply

